With a Song in My Heart

11 thoughts on “With a Song in My Heart”

  1. Hello Samahab,

    Thank you. I’m very pleased you like it. Sofia was there when this story took place but, so far as I know, has since handed the reins of the kafeneion over to someone else.

    Cheers,

    Ian

  2. Hi Smithy……we are off to Tilos tomorrow for the first visit since my climbing accident in March 2013—its now 4 years since the last visit which was for a month in 2012. I was thinking about you and then thought I should check out your blog…..and when I did was delighted to discover you have been writing quite a lot over the last 8 months – so I have a lot of reading to catch up with!.We are over for 3 week and staying at Eden Villas with Rob and Annie for a change. Hope to do plenty walking again but will have to see how the body stands up to the rigours – still improving but still some way to go to get back to a level of fitness I will be happy with. Will be in touch again soon.
    JIM

  3. Hello Jim,

    It’s good to hear from you. I have actually been thinking of you and wondering whether you were going to make it to Tilos this spring. I booked a ticket for Greece myself but had to cancel in the end due to circumstances that weren’t quite within my control – a familiar story of late, I’m afraid.

    I will be interested to know how you find staying on the other side of the island, the best side, to my way of thinking, although there are of course many good walks in the Livadia region. The winter, I believe, has been relatively dry and mild and so I imagine the island won’t be as green as you have seen it in former years; Sibylle reports from Crete that even up relatively high, the wildflowers have begun to wither. Not to worry. It will still be beautiful and I am sure you will have a wonderful time meeting old friends and re-investigating all the familiar places with a new vision rendered keener and more appreciative by virtue of your enforced absence. I wish you all the best with it.

    Ian

    1. Hi Ian, we are now holed up in Rhodes town overnight with the Dodekanissos Express to catch to Tilos at 9 tomorrow morning. Excitement is mounting and I could not resist pulling my own guidebook out of my rucksack to do some plotting on the hotel veranda overlooking Mandraki. I agree totally that the north of Tilos is the best bit and, as you know, the Profitis Ilias range is my fondest stomping ground. I am expecting most of that to be out of reach, at least for this year although I think I will manage the trek out to Kefala where we bivouaced in 2009 and will probably have a go af Patela via the Eristos to Pandeleimona trail. I still have ideas for expanding the guidebook….including an exploration on the Askelou peninsula which you told me about after your venture there with Phillippe in 2012 after I had left. I still hope to get an Exploring Tilos website up and running and will think some more about it after this trip is over.
      I will keep you posted on how the return to Tilos is going.

      Jim

  4. Thanks, John. It’s nice to be remembered. Sad to say, though, it’s not shyness on my part that has prevented me from posting links, but a diabolical lack of productivity. Hopefully I can change this soon, but at the moment I’m preoccupied trying to keep my head above water among the shades and the shadows in the Land of the Living Dead. It feels like a long way from here to my beloved Arse-end of Tilos.

  5. Hi Smithy….I can fully empathise with you. I lost all interest in reading about mountaineering etc and even in my own logs and records of my own activities over the last 25 years and more, my photograph collection and the films I have made over the last few years. It is only now that I find the enthusiasm for it all returning and that is because my fitness is now back at a level where I am starting to get back out on the mountains again – not climbing again as I can’t feel my feet properly because of nerve damage relating to my back injury – but back out and managing some of the higher summits here in Scotland. Its been a long haul but I remember you reassuring me that I would get there eventually. I doubted it for a long time but soldiered on anyway – there is not other choice unless you are willing to lie down and give up on life. I am sure that you are finding it hard having to tough it out in an environment that stifles you but you will get through it eventually and when you do I am looking forward to reading your wonderful blog again. Regards. JIM

    1. Yes Jim,

      It’s truly a matter of sticking at it and not giving up in the face of tricky circumstances. But it’s such a fucking drag. I’m managing to write, but not so much about Tilos, and although on the whole I’m travelling okay where I am, I just can’t find that jovial, happy go lucky mood in which I always wrote my blog posts. I miss the mountains and the wilderness and the un-fucked up nature of the life I knew in Greece. I miss ouzo and retsina and waking up on winter mornings with a force 10 gale battering the windows and half-a-dozen cats sprawled across my bed. I miss the jangle of goat bells that used to echo off the cliffs behind the house and having thyme and sage and oregano, and scores of other plants, growing all over the place. I miss drinking with Menelaus in his apothiki and shopping in Megalo Horio… I could go on, but you get the picture. I, thank god, haven’t suffered an injury like yours but the sense of loss and dislocation I have felt these past few years, plus the lack of good companionship, hasn’t been much fun. But who knows, maybe we’ll meet again in 2017.

      All the best,

      Ian

Leave a comment